C’est la vie. C’est une belle vie.

I started my internship last week. So far, it’s consisted of a lot of different things, including a pretty decent amount of sitting, waiting for something, anything to do.

I’ve learned about office fashion faux pas – not because they said anything but because I realized filing anything into a cabinet in this dress is virtually impossible to do without displaying…extra.

Not an asset they’re looking for, I’m sure.

With the internship Mon, Tues, Fri 9:30-2:30 and work Monday – Friday from 4:30 – 12:30/1ish, my exhaustion levels are peaking. Nevermind those Saturday Bruins home games I travel back to Boston for. Oh, and that thing where I broke my back.

Yeah…that.

My only time for phone calls is late at night or in the hour or so between jobs, and to make matters worse, I stay on the phone because most of the day’s smiles come in those few hours of pillow talk. It’s the closest I can get to the hug I want right now.

I’m pretty happy. No, I am happy. I’m stressed and running around – and that’s just the way I like things. It’s fall in New York and the leaves are beautiful, and I got to spend a whole morning with my goddaughter and my cousins – two of my most favorite people in the world. I’m working, and can pay my bills, and find myself giggling away at work, acting like a goofball.

Sure, this too shall pass.

But for now, I’m just going to enjoy it. During these few moments when I can sit at a desk with really nothing to do and just observe everything that happens in the newsroom here, I can read my favorite blogs, New York Magazine and waste time looking at pictures of my goddaughter holding her beautiful baby brother.

Plus, it’s always good to keep in touch with you. I know it’s been awhile.

In the meantime, if you’d like to join me, I suggest you…

Read.

Think.

Dream.

French Lesson
C’est la vie. That’s life.
C’est une belle vie. It’s a beautiful life.

2 thoughts on “C’est la vie. C’est une belle vie.

Leave a Reply

