La vérité sort de la bouche des enfants.

My brother is 15 years old.

As we drove through town we discussed his upcoming confirmation.

When a Catholic makes the sacrament of confirmation they are asked to have a sponsor who will present them to the Bishop or Celebrant when they step forward to be confirmed.

He was unaware that they usually encourage you to choose one of Godparents. If not, they obviously would like you to choose someone who you ocnsider to be a role model, in so far as the Catholic Church is concerned.

Well, he knows who he wants to pick, but it wasn’t a Godparent. His reasoning is that they are closest to him, and he feels most comfortable with them. At the end of the day, they are his role model.

I supported his choice, “Choose whoever you want, so long as your choice means something to you.”

“Yeah, but I don’t want to look like a jerk if I don’t pick my Godparents. I didn’t know we were supposed to.”

“Don’t worry, they will understand, I assure you. Hey, if I ever get married…”

I wanted to say that the person I would choose would mean something to me – whether or not feelings were hurt, it’s my moment, my sacrament.

But he heard something  immediately in my sentence, and it wasn’t what I expected…

“If? If you get married?”

“Well, I mean, I don’t know, I don’t know if I’ll get married, I mean maybe I’ll live with someone but not get married, I don’t know. I don’t know the future, if, yes, if.”

“No, Bell. You will get married.”

“Well, maybe not, maybe I won’t. That’s not my point.”

“No, you’ll get married. You just have to be open to it. You have to open your heart.”

Wow. This is not where I expected this conversation to go.

“I, I do, I am open to it. I’ve been on dates…”

“If you aren’t open to it, if you don’t open your heart to it…”

“I date, I’m open. I promise you that I am open to love and all that it may bring. I’m dating, I just haven’t liked any of them enough. Ok. I’m open, I promise.”

“Hm. Ok.”

He didn’t sound convinced.

I suddenly felt like a kid. Like I’d stolen cookies from the cookie jar and my mom suspected but I blamed my sister.

“I’m just going to break some hearts for a little while first, ok?” I said in the hopes that it would lighten the mood.

He laughed. I sighed, relieved that it worked.

“Yeah, you just keep kissing frogs?”

Yes Brother, I’ve been kissing frogs, with my heart closed. You’ll be first to know when I open my heart and find my prince. Promise.

“There are so many girls, and so few princes.”
-Liza Minnelli as Linda in “Arthur” 1981

What have les enfants told you lately?

French Lesson

La vérité sort de la bouche des enfants. 

A French Proverb: Out of the mouths of babes.
Translated literally it reads: “The truth comes out of the mouths of children.

les enfants. [the] children

Leave a Reply

