Can I butt-bump you?

Has anyone ever said this to you?

Don’t be alarmed.

They are not hitting on you.

Or insulting you.

If you’re confusing this with what baseball teammates do, you’re thinking of something entirely different.

Here’s a clue.

C
Jumper - StationStops.com

Still don’t know?

Well, let me tell you a story.

Padraig and I are walking down to the subway last night and as I pull out my MetroCard his eyes grew wide, “Oh shit.”

“What?”

“Can I butt-bump you?”

Now, to the not-so-frequent Subway rider, this may seem like a strange request.

Were I a stranger, he may have been slapped!

After all, what IS butt bumping?

Well, but bumping happens, when a certain someone doesn’t have (or doesn’t want to buy, ahem) a Metro Card. You stand real close, one person walks all the way to the bar, and the person in the back takes the MetroCard, and, with one swipe of the MetroCard, you both go through the turnstile.

Is it completely legal?

Um, well, no.

But it enable roommates to divvy the cost of a monthly MetroCard, $104 a month.

Also, he said I’m a much better butt-bump than our other roommate Andy.

Um…thanks?

xo, bell

One thought on “Can I butt-bump you?

Leave a Reply

