My Valentine is my Mom

Ok, so a few weeks ago, I made a playlist. I had a wicked hard time deciding who to make one to. Why can’t I make one for all the people I love? Well, because it would take ages. So, here’s the one that I’m writing to my mother for Valentine’s Day. I know, I’m so sappy, it’s obnoxious.

You love it.

Mommie Dearest,

You taught me never to use a wire hanger. You also never beat me with one, for that I’m grateful. Really.

I get my eyes from you, my face, my freckles, my insatiable appetite for chocolate. You gave your emotion to Tierney, though she hides it. You gave serenity to Troy, an ability to create calm in a room, in a moment. To Chelsea you gave your sense of resolve.

I think we all got some of the best parts of you. The roads we’ve traveled have been privileged and smooth at times, and rocky and heart-breaking at others, but the experience has strengthened the four of us. When the four of us band together, we are truly invincible, a steadfast formidable opponent.

This Valentine’s Day, remember that it’s what is within us that matters. Then look to your four children and remember that the qualities they possess are possible because of you. If that doesn’t work, brew yourself a cup of tea and pop in this album. Most of the songs explain themselves, I’ve explained the others.

“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.” – Audrey Hepburn

Someone’s Watching Over Me – Hilary Duff
No I won’t break down/Sooner than it seems life turns around/And I will be strong/Even if it all goes wrong
When I’m standing in the dark I’ll still believe/Someone’s watching over me

You Are Not Alone – Michael Jacksonhttp://s0.wp.com/i/support/feedback/automattobot-sad.png
you are not alone/I am here with you/Though we’re far apart/You’re always in my heart

Strong Enough – Cher
I’ve been losing sleep/You’ve been going cheap/She ain’t worth half of me it’s true

Invincible – Muse
During the struggle/They will pull us down/But please, please
Let’s use this chance/To turn things around and tonight/We can truly say
Together we’re invincible
Yes, I have this song tattoo’d on my body. With good reason.

You Gotta Be – Des’Ree
Listen as your day unfolds/Challenge what the future holds/Try and keep your head up to the sky/Lovers they may cause your tears/Go ahead release your fears

A Little Bit Stronger – Sara Evans
Woke up late today and I still feel the sting of the pain/But I brushed my teeth anyway/I got dressed through the mess and put a smile on my face/I got a little bit stronger

In My Life – Beatles
In my life, I’ve loved you more

Respect – Aretha Franklin 
Because sometimes, yelling out ‘R-E-S-P-E-C-T Find out what it means to me!’ just makes you feel better.

I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor 
I Will Survive. Just keeping singing it, loud.

When all else fails pop in this tune and dance through the kitchen.

Let’s Dance to Joy Division – The Wombats 
Let’s dance to joy division/And celebrate the irony/Everything is going wrong/But we’re so happy

Far apart in miles, but never in heart.

I love you, Mom.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

 

Some content on this page was disabled on 9 May 2016 as a result of a DMCA takedown notice from PRS for Music. You can learn more about the DMCA here:

https://en.support.wordpress.com/copyright-and-the-dmca/

One thought on “My Valentine is my Mom

Leave a Reply

