Petit gâteau

We all know how much I love my sweets. If you were sitting next me and saw the empty wrappers, you’d really know. Anyways. I haven’t baked anything depuis Noël. Lucky for me, my fabulous friend’s birthday was Tuesday. I spent the last week and a half contemplating how to create a cupcake that was like a Reese’s cup. I like my cupcakes to be somewhat original, so I scoured the web for recipes and ended up combining two that I found: Ganache Recipe, Peanut Butter Filling Recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 Box Dark Chocolate Cake Mix
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/3 Cup Oil
  • 2/3 Cup Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • 1 Cup Peanut Butter
  • 16 Ounces Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 2 Cups Heavy Cream
Cupcakes & Photo by Bell. Boo yeah.

You’re Also Going to Need

  • tamis à farine
  • deux bols de verre
  • une cuillère en bois
  • Sac de glaçage et métal décorant bouts

Sounds exciting right?

  1. Prepare cupcakes according to box directions. (I know, I prefer scratch too but I don’t like to have tons of flour and sugar in my house or I will literally bake constantly. I can’t resist making shortbread cookies…) I used paper cupcake cups because I hadn’t totally decided on the topping when I made the cupcakes. Looking back, I wished I hadn’t bothered with them. It’s your call.
  2. While the cupcakes are cooking take the Peanut Butter and mix it (I used a stand mixer, or you can use a hand-mixer) with the butter until creamy. Then grab your tamis à farine and sift the confectioner’s sugar into the bowl and mix until creamy.
  3. Leaving about 1/2 cup in the bowl, put the peanut butter mixture into your sac de glaçage. Insert le métal décorant bout that you chose, into the cupcake and squeeze until you feel the cupcake expand just a little. Voilà ! You have a cupcake version of a Reese’s…almost.
  4. Now is time for your deux bols de verre. Take the smaller one and pour in the heavy cream and pour the 12 ounces of chocolate into the larger bowl. Put the cream in the microwave on high for about 3 minutes – you just want it to simmer, don’t let it boil over. Take it out of the microwave and pour it over the chocolate chips, then stir with la cuillère en bois until it is a dark and creamy ganache. Immediately pour over the top of each cupcake – just enough to cover the tops and maybe drip down the sides.
  5. Let cool. If you’re pressed for time, pop them in the freezer for a few minutes while you take the rest of the peanut butter and put it in your sac de glaçage. Once they’ve cooled enough to top them without wrecking the pretty ganache frosting, take your sac de glaçage and pipe little rosettes, or whatever you want, onto the top of your cupcakes. I thought about putting Reese’s cups on top, or peanut butter chips or another frosting topping, but I think this keeps it simple while adding a little décor.
  6. Eat immediately because they are so delicious…or so I hear. Since I made them with butter and heavy cream, I can’t actually eat them or I will be sick. Man I hate being allergic to dairy. If you make them, let me know if they are delicious or not.
  1. French Lesson
    Petit gâteau. Cupcake.
    depuis Noël. since Christmas.
    tamis à farine. flour sifter.
    deux bols de verre. two glass bowls.
    une cuillère en bois. a wooden spoon.
    Sac de glaçage et métal décorant bouts. Icing bag and metal tips. 

     

2 thoughts on “Petit gâteau

  1. Hey Bell,
    Those cupcakes look delicious!! You did a great job. One problem is that I do not really like peanut butter. Do you have other Ideas I could substitute for the peanut flavor………..not anything chocolate as I think it would be over powering. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

