30 Days of Truth: Day 24 –> Dear Annabell

Day 24 → Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. (Just post the titles and artists and letter)

I don’t know the last time I made a playlist for someone. This assignment seemed so easy. Pfft, a playlist? How old am I? 13?

Then I actually attempted to complete it. Roadblock. Roadblock. Roadblock.

So, after much pondering, I’ve decided to make a playlist for Annabell. Annabell is my God-daughter. She’ll  be two next month. Finding songs that I felt had reason to be there was difficult, so I took my time with this post and let songs just come to me.

Dearest Annabell,

As you grow, I’m sure you’ll find songs to add to this playlist, but here are some songs that you should really give a listen. Some of them will be the songs you need at a certain time in your life, some of them will be songs to make you smile, songs to make you cry, songs that will help you remember how much you mean to me. I chose some of these songs because they were important in mine and your mother’s lives and they will hopefully give you some insight into the years that you can’t remember, or the things that will be hard to remember when you’re fighting with your mother about why you can’t go out on a Friday night. Do your homework, do your chores, do at least one good deed every day. Smile, because it’s the second best accessory you’ll have – after your amazing family.

Music of My Heart – N Sync and Gloria Estefan
You taught me to run/You taught me to fly/Helped me to free the me inside/Help me hear the music of my heart
Years before you were born, your mother and her cousins sang this to our Nana on her 80th birthday. A few months later, we sang it again. Only this time, it was at her funeral. You are so lucky to have incredible grandparents and family that love you more than words. Always remember, you are the music of our hearts.
When you were born, I all of a sudden felt, different. Life felt more important somehow. When I did something, it was as if it wasn’t just for me any more. It was all for you too. Suddenly I realized that I wanted to be someone you could be proud of, someone who you could look up to, someone who could give you advice that they themselves had taken. In that way, you changed my life. You could barely open your eyes and you were already changing the world.

New York, New York – Frank Sinatra
My little town blues/They are melting away/I’m gonna make a brand new start of it/In Old New York
Well darling, one thing you’ll come to understand is that there is nothing better than the classics. When I left for New York, you were about 1 ½ years old. With a pocket full of dreams, a laptop, a guitar and an affinity for home décor, I’m following a path that feels right even though I’m not entirely sure where it will lead. I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, but I have a job and I had enough money saved and this wonderful security net that I call ‘family’. With that said, I emplore you to do the same. Follow your dreams, wherever they may lead.

Home – Michael Buble
Another summer day/Has come and gone away/In Paris and Rome/But I wanna go home
That’s the thing about leaving home – you always get to go home. Sometimes you’ll be in the most beautiful place you could imagine, and all you’ll want to do is go home. Home to the room you grew up in, the arms that have hugged you in good times and bad. Because no matter where you are, or how old you are,  there’s no place like home.

Never Had A Friend Like Me – Genie from Aladdin
You got some power in your corner now/Some heavy ammunition in your camp
By now I’m sure you’ve sat through every possible Disney movie with your mother. Just so you know, I’m almost as crazy as the Genie, and just as funny. However, I am not blue, nor will I disappear into a lamp. I can’t turn you into Jasmine, but don’t worry, by now you already know you’re a princess. My point here, is that with me, your mother, your father, your Papa and the countless other people that care for you – you got some power in your corner now, some heavy ammunition in your camp. Never forget, we are your best allies and we’ll fight for you any day of the week.

You Save Me – Kenny Chesney
When I’m a ship tossed around on the waves/Up on a highwire that’s ready to break/When I’ve had just about all I can take/Baby you, baby you save me
I remember the day you were born vividly. I remember sitting outside in the waiting area, knowing that you would be coming. Then there is was, over the loudspeaker, the lullaby they played every time a baby was born, and I just knew. I knew it was you. A few months later when something awful happened to me and I couldn’t figure out what to do with myself, I went to your house. Your mother handed you to me and I laid on the couch with you sleeping on my chest and just let the tears pour down my face. As I held you, this tiny little miracle that taught me so much about love, I felt better. Somehow, with you there, snug in a ball beneath my chin, I felt like everything was going to be ok. In that moment, you saved me. Know that no matter what happens in your life, whether you think it’s your fault or not, I’ll always be there, to hug you, hold you, help you, save you.

Keep Me In Your Heart For Awhile – Warren Zevon
If I leave you it doesn’t mean I love you any less/ Keep me in your heart for awhile
Miles apart in distance but not in heart. No matter where I am, I’m never very far.

Never Grow Up – Taylor Swift
Your little hands wrapped around my finger/And it’s so quiet in the world tonight/Your little eyelids flutter ’cause you’re dreaming …
And even through to you want to/Please try to never grow up
Just listen to this one. You’ll get it.

Beautiful Flower – India Arie


Cause you’re beautiful like a flower/More valuable than a diamond/You are powerful like a fire/You can heal the world with your mind/And there is nothing in the world that you cannot do/When you believe in you
India wrote this song for the girls at Oprah Winfrey’s Leadership Academy in Africa, but I think it speaks to every girl at every age. This song will ring true at 11, at 17, at 23 and longer. A writer put it best when she said this song, “spoke to every moment of me.” Her words are empowering and ask you to look inside and see yourself as the incredible, beautiful person you are. You will learn that it helps having people that believe in you. But perhaps more important, is your faith in yourself. Believe in yourself, and you will do amazing things.

“Life is like music; it must be composed by ear, feeling, and instinct, not by rule.” – Samuel Butler

So when you write your story, I want your life to be composed like a song. Ear, feeling and instinct. But if your mother tells you to be home by 11, well that’s a rule you’re going to have to follow.

I love you now, I love you always. I love watching you grow, I’m excited for every moment and I look forward to hearing the songs that you will add to your playlist.

Your Godmother,

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Truth: Day 24 –> Dear Annabell

Leave a Reply

