30 Days of Truth: 17 –> 21 – Really?

Hope is so wise. Which is why I totally agree with her that some of the prompts on this ’30 Days of Truth’ are entirely uninspiring. Instead of ignoring them, I just put them all here, short answer style.

Day 17 → A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.
It’s not a book. It’s an article. It didn’t so much change my views as it opened my eyes. White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack, by Peggy McIntosh. I still remember reading this in my anthropology class and learning the word ‘ethnocentric’ and thinking, “That’s how I’ve been viewing the world, through my parents tiny viewfinder. Until now.”

Day 18 → Your views on gay marriage.
I’m all for it. Love makes the world go ’round and marriage shouldn’t be limited to heterosexuals.

Day 19 → What do you think of religion? Or what do you think of politics?
Religion and politics are necessary evils. They can pick you up from the unholiest of places, but can also be very dangerous when followed blindly.

Day 20 → Your views on drugs and alcohol.
Ugh. Honestly? Everything is fine in moderation? Ok, not everything. I was brought up to believe that drugs and alcohol were bad and that people that used them in high school were bad kids. Yeah, thanks for that Mom and Dad, all the kids in high school didn’t think I was wicked weird or anything. Let’s not even get into how not ready I was for the college scene.

Anyways, back to the question. I don’t do drugs. That’s not to say I never have, I just don’t. They don’t appeal to me. However, I also don’t hold it against people that do drugs.

Marijuana doesn’t make me bat an eye, but when you start crossing into other departments, things start getting murky. Those aren’t waters I’d be swimming in.

As for alcohol, I drink. Alcohol electrifies me and it terrifies me. I’ve been so drunk I couldn’t walk and I’ve taken care of someone so drunk they couldn’t walk. I’ve been in situations that could have been avoided had I been in control. I used to drink because I wanted to be out-of-control. I’m a bit of a control freak and when I was first started drinking, that’s what I loved so much about it. Finally, it seemed, I could relax. I’m not in college anymore. Now I drink occasionally and I have a much deeper understanding of alcohol as a drug, and an appreciation for pre-and-prohibition-era cocktails made with Sazerac 6 Year Rye and Cynar.

So, the question again? Oh yeah, my views. It’s all about respect. Have respect for what each can do to you, or make you do. Then have the responsibility to either choose wisely or deal with the consequences.

Day 21 → (scenario) Your best friend is in a car accident and you two got into a fight an hour before. What do you do?

Um…I feel like I’m in 6th grade. Are we going to play Truth or Dare next? Light as a Feather Stiff as a Board? I don’t fight with my best friend. So, this question is invalid. 

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Truth: 17 –> 21 – Really?

Leave a Reply

