30 Days of Truth: Day 11 – Compliments

I’m not awesome at receiving compliments. They make me feel like wriggling out of my skin for some reason.

One night at our regular bar, we sat talking with an older gentleman who had been staying in our hotel for over a month, visiting to tend to his sick brother. All of a sudden, in the midst of our conversation he told me I had ‘just the most beautiful eyes’ and all I could muster out was, “Thank you, that’s very kind.”

He shook his head and chuckled, “I’m not being kind, it’s just a fact.”

I still didn’t know how to respond.

“I guess I’m just lucky then, I get them from my mother.”

But it’s not the compliments on my physical characteristics that really make me feel good.

Some call me an old soul, some call me old-fashioned, and others call me strong. I’m not sure if I am everything they say I am, but hearing them say it, makes me feel like I am.

“Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.”

Mahatma Gandhi

One thought on “30 Days of Truth: Day 11 – Compliments

Leave a Reply

