Forget love … I’d rather fall in chocolate!

I decided that this year I will be giving out something home-made as Christmas gifts for all those people that, let’s face it, I can’t afford to buy for. We discussed the Amex card, didn’t we? And my gift-buying disease that seems to target only my mother. Count your blessings Mom, I just keep buying you stuff!

Anyway. What to give? Emily has cookies that she makes, and well, I’m over cookies. I’m not in the crafty mood where I wanted to deal with a hot glue gun or a sewing machine. So with a few clicks I found a recipe for truffles entitled, ‘Easy Decadent Truffles.’ (Check it out at All Recipes)

Easy? Dedadent? Truffles?

I die.

With very few ingredients and a ton of 4 and 5 star reviews, it seemed like a good bet.

I mixed cream cheese with confectioner’s sugar, then melted semi-sweet chocolate chips and added them in. I divided it in half – this is only the first batch – and added mint extract to one and vanilla to the other. Then I popped them in the refrigerator for an hour while I toasted coconut and crushed candy-canes.

Soon I was rolling chocolate truffles and covering them with candy canes, coconut and non-pareils. Not all at once, of course.

I was rolling, and rolling, and rolling.

There’s one thing they forgot to mention in the description.

Rolling those silly truffles takes forever, and the batch makes more than 60 OF THESE THINGS!

I swear, when I’m done I’ll never want to look at a truffle again. I also have a greater appreciation for candy makers. You have more patience than I do.

Can’t deny it…they are pretty darn décadent. Je doute que vous pouvez manger juste l’un !

Tomorrow we will be using Raspberry liqueur and almond extract. Any topping ideas?

Oh, and uh, if you have nothing to do, and you happen to like truffles and Christmas music that never stops (and occasionally plays Sarah McLachlan’s ‘Wintersong’ album on repeat) c’mon down! I’ll give ya a truffle!

French Lesson
décadent. decadent.
Je doute que vous pouvez manger juste l’un ! I doubt you can eat just one!

2 thoughts on “Forget love … I’d rather fall in chocolate!

  1. […] York City in September, I haven’t truly made any baked goods from scratch. (Except for those Christmas truffles – those were from scratch.) Until now, I’ve used or manipulated box cakes. Baking from scratch is one of my favorite […]

Leave a Reply

