30 Days of Truth: Day 8 – Gives You Hell

It’s been…a while. Yes, I’ve put off writing this post. I’m desperately trying to go in order with this list no matter how unnecessary that may be.

30 Days of Truth: Day 8 – Someone Who Has Made Your Life Hell or Treated You Like Shit.

A blog like this opens a can of worms so I did a lot of thinking before I responded to the call of duty I put on myself by starting this list.

Sure, there are people in my past who have made my life hell or treated me like shit.  Note: people in my past. For the most part, after time I was able to talk to them about it. I’ve gotten past the people who made my life hell, or treated me like shit. I don’t see a need to rehash old wounds that have healed over with time and some honesty.

A year ago this time, I would probably have had a lot more to say and it would have come out like a volcano spewing fire. There were so many things that needed to be aired out. Then they were, I talked with this person, I talked with that person.

There is one person I haven’t talked to. But I couldn’t say he made my life hell. He gave me a week of hell, and hours of treating me like shit. We were in the car and I felt like a captive. I loved him in a way that makes your heart ache. I couldn’t understand who he was, or why he would treat me that way. In my mind, as he picked me apart, from ringtone to the way I sat in the seat, to the voice on my GPS. I kept asking, why? Why is he being like this? This isn’t the man I know. What happened?

Apart from a talk on the boardwalk in the middle of the night a month or so after and a chance bumping into him at a bar almost a year ago, I haven’t seen or heard from him since that week.

My heart still aches when I think of how I felt on that car ride. I was completely disoriented. It’s the one time in my life where I let someone make me feel like shit and just, let it go.

I see him again, I won’t ask him any of these questions. With that said, at the time, an apology for that week would have done a lot for me. Instead, I moved on without one, forced to see the man I had loved with new eyes.

I left it where it will always be – in the past.

One thought on “30 Days of Truth: Day 8 – Gives You Hell

Leave a Reply

