30 Days of Truth: Day 2 – Love Thyself

Day 2: Something You Love About Yourself

Ugh. That’s like when people ask you what you think you’re best asset is, “What’s your favorite thing about yourself?”

I don’t know. I get all squirmy and want to jump out of my skin when I think about taking a look at myself to find something I like. I don’t mean because I don’t like myself, it’s simply that, I feel vainglorious and it gives me the heebie-jeebies.

I think I love that I have this innate ability to find the beauty in anything, anywhere, anytime. I love that I’m a New Yorker (am I yet?) who looks up and around, to the left, to the right. Up at the sky, at the top of the buildings, toward lights, toward people, toward trees. Although, really, I’m not a New Yorker that looks up, I’m just a person that looks up. When I lived in the ‘burbs in Massachusetts, I always looked up when I got out of my car. Looking up at the stars is peaceful and grounding for me.

I drive with the sun roof open, always. If it’s shut I feel claustrophobic. I sleep with the shades up. I don’t want to shut out the sun, let it in! Let it wake me up instead of the alarming melody of my ipod. I don’t use an umbrella. Let the rain fall, I want to feel it. I’ll sit at the window during a thunderstorm staring at the lightning, if it’s not raining, I’ll sit on the porch. I can spend hours in art museums. I love the smell of the pavement after it rains.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This world is incredible, there is beauty everywhere you look. It’s almost overwhelming and I just want to soak it all up and have it flood my veins with energy and life. I suppose that may be why I also love reading, I like to soak up stories, other people stories, stories of magic and mystery.

I love feeling alive, it’s a natural high.

So, to summarize, I love that I love that. All that stuff. My ability to find not just the good in things, but the beauty in every day.

I think there are a lot of people in this world that can’t seem to see the beauty of life and I just want to say to them, it’s right there! It’s right there in front of you! Look at the flower bursting from the pavement! That little flower can see the sun! Why can’t you? But that’s a whole ‘nother post.

I suppose I’m pretty lucky that I look at life that way, because at the end of the day, no matter what happens, whether I’ve cried or laughed or moped, it’s a beautiful life baby. I’ll take it all, and I’ll love it.

One thought on “30 Days of Truth: Day 2 – Love Thyself

Leave a Reply

