Burning Sage

I haven’t blogged in a while. I haven’t done much besides work and drink lately. Don’t take that as a red flag for alcoholism. Although if consuming (sometimes copious amounts of) alcohol after work to stop from feeling the pain in my feet that comes from running around in heels 8 hours a day is alcohol abuse, then I’ll just have to wear that scarlet letter with a little je ne sais quoi.

Sigh.

So. How are you doing today?

Good? Gooooood.

What’d you do today?

Oh, cool, cool.

What did I do today? Oh, well, since you ask. Today I moved in with a stranger.

Well I met him once, for a “sublet interview.”

What do I know about him?

Um. His name?

Yes, I moved into a one and a half month sublet. I saw an ad on Craigslist that said it would be $780/month all utilities included. The apartment is only ten blocks from my work. That translates to a 10-minute subway trip or a 20 minute walk. I’m very fond of walking. That translates to, one month of not spending a fortune to ride the metro.

That translates to…awesome.

Except, I’m living in a room in a stranger’s house. Albeit a nice stranger. He actually came to my apartment and picked me up with my two suitcases.

I know, I know. Don’t get in a car with a stranger. Those suitcases were heavy and I just lugged them down 5 flights of stairs. Mull that one over.

The room is cozy. There is a “full bed” which is really a futon with sheets. It reminds me of my awesome futon from college. High cielings with a unique paint jobs that appears to be housing hundreds of layers of white paint. There is a little closet, and on the wall next to it there is a doorway that has been walled up and filled with plaster. I wonder what it used to lead to. Beside it are three tiny shelves. I remember when they showed me the space there were items there. She removed all the items except for the one thing I pointed to and said, “My mom has that, her friend came over with them.”

“It’s good, it’s very good,” she had said. The item is a bundle of sage. Sage has been used for centuries as part of a cleansing ritual. Burning sage around a room, or house is supposed to help banish negative energy or spirits. My mother’s friend brought it over when she was having a hard time healing or feeling happy. At the time it didn’t help, our problem was a person and the negativity didn’t leave until he did.

Today, it works perfectly. I didn’t light it, and I probably never will, because it fulfills its purpose simply by sitting there on the shelf. It makes me feel a little at home. I’m really glad she left it there.

French Lesson

Je ne sais quoi. I don’t know what.

One thought on “Burning Sage

Leave a Reply

