Now the years are rolling by me…

Now the years are rolling by me, they are rockin’ even me
I am older than I once was, and younger than I’ll be, that’s not unusual
No it isn’t strange, after changes upon changes, we are more or less the same

“The Boxer” – Paul Simon

In this past few days I have watched my younger sister graduate high school and had a random reunion with half a dozen people from when I was in high school.

I was grinning ear to ear when they remembered I was captain of the swim team, and that I sang, but I burst into laughter when they asked me if i was still with my high school sweetheart, then turned to my BFF (even says it in our high school yearbooks) and referred to her as the girlfriend of a boy she dated in high school.

Sigh.

My brother starts high school next year, my other sister will graduate college. Then today, while babysitting my infant cousin, the nanny, who was taking his 2 older brothers to the beach, asked me if i was thinking about having children soon.

My response?

Well first I choked. On air. Then I said, “Not. now.”

“You get your fix when you babysit?”

Yes, yes I do. And I’m living at home, don’t have a super steady job or a husband to help me raise a child. So no. No I’m not thinking about having kids right now.

But holy hell. When did I get old enough that someone could ask me if I was thinking about having kids? What is the appropriate age for that question nowadays anyways?

I have a god-daughter, and I love her to pieces. But I haven’t got the patience for that to be my reality 24/7. But to those that have got it, god bless you. Get a manicure, pedicure, massage, and something sparkly, because girl, you deserve it.

Leave a Reply

