Time Management For Dummies.

No, this isn’t a lesson, it’s the latest book I brought home from the library – after my 13-year-old brother held it up and said, “Um, I think you need this.”

What? Time Management? Me? What is time management, anyway?

Don’t fret – I googled, or wikipedia’d. Whatever way you want to say it, I found an answer.

Time management refers to a range of skills, tools, and techniques used to manage time when accomplishing specific tasks, projects and goals. This set encompasses a wide scope of activities, and these include planning, allocating, setting goals, delegation, analysis of time spent, monitoring, organizing, scheduling, and prioritizing. Initially time management referred to just business or work activities, but eventually the term broadened to include personal activities as well. A time management system is a designed combination of processes, tools and techniques.

Sounds exciting? I’ll let you know when I finish the book. As of now, I think today was successful. I got to work on-time (really!) after work I drove a friend home (Good Samaritan move of the day), went to the library (I love literature), went to the gym, came home and baked cupcakes (Strawberry with Dark Chocolate).

Since then I’ve eaten, Facebooked, attempted to describe the love of my life (tall, blue or green eyes, passionate about life), and watched television with my mother while drinking more wine than I should have.

The first part of this so-called time managment is to organize your desk. I don’t have a desk. I have a bedroom, with a bed, and bureaus and a lovely lean-to bookshelf from Crate and Barrel. So I suppose my first task is to organize that? Let me tell you something – I’ve officially been attempting to “organize” that room since I moved back in May after graduation.

Perhaps my favorite new rule – You don’t have to answer every phone call. Sweet.

Leave a Reply

